Monday 26 December 2016

Ralph's Xmas Indie Show REPLAY No. 204

Tracks by:

Ambrose Chappel ft: Ikashflo. - Kash4Christmas
The Strawheads - But Hey Happy Christmas
Madeleine Peyroux — Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
The Low Countries - Carry On Christmas
Michael Bublé - It’s Beginning To Look a Lot Like Christmas
Wullae Wright - For The Young And The Old
Paul Brennan - Just A Day
Lady Antebellum - A Holly Jolly Christmas
Lisa Redford - I Believe In Father Christmas
Mindless Behaviour - Christmas With My Girl
My Morning Jacket - I’ll Be Home For Christmas ft: The Head and The Heart
Cranberry Flick - The Christmas Song
Kevin Ross - Someday At Christmas
Trevor Jackson - I’ll Be Who You Love (This Christmas)
We Came From The Sea - Last Christmas
Los Campesinos! - When Christmas Comes
King Lil G - Cold Christmas
The 48K's - Happy Christmas Day
Frightened Rabbit - She Screams Christmas
Ed Sings - Midnight Clear
Pulled Apart By Horses - Merry Christmas Everybody
BTS - Christmas Day
The Boy Who Kicked Pigs - The Christmas Song
Panic! At The Disco - White Christmas
Helen McCookerybook - Christmas Queen
Fetty Wap ft: Monty- Merry Xmas

Saturday 24 December 2016

Ralph's Top 10 Blogged Band Chart - 25.12.16

OK bands you know the score.....

The more hits your blog gets by the fans..... 

The higher you go in The Chart.....

So Tweet it, Facebook it.....

Generally expose yourself.....


Click here for the Ralph's Life website


Tracks from the Top Ten Blogged Bands are played 
every Sunday 5-7pm on Radio KC as part of 
Ralph's Indie Show.

THE NEW CHART - 24.12 16

It's been a couple of years since One Eyed Wayne first graced the hallowed pages of Ralph's Life with a review of their then newly released single After The Break

Well the good news is that the track features on the shiny new One Eyed Wayne album Attack Of The Luxury Flats.

It's 10 tracks of pure punky feelgoodness a la Blockheads with a bit of Wreckless Eric and a bit more of that UK Subs vibe that graces After The Break.

It's always nice to get out on a road-trip and when the chance presented itself to catch The Boston Shakers as support to Xander and The Peace Pirates for their album launch in Liverpool it was too good an opportunity to pass up. 

The Boston Shakers closed the recent Ralph's Life event for Musicians Against Homelessness in St Helens and very nearly brought the roof down, so it was going to be interesting seeing them do their thang in a sold out Cavern Club.

No 3: Ded Rabbit

Image may contain: 4 peopleDed Rabbit are always a favourite on Ralph's Radio KC Indie Show, so it was with great anticipation that we await their latest single Figurine. With an official release date of February 3rd it's an epic aural assault on what should be an immense 2017 for this charismatic young band. 

CAMPFIRES IN WINTERRalph's favourite video this week is the Campfires In Winter single Free Me From The Howl from their debut album Ischaemia on Olive Grove Records. Free Me From The Howl is available now as a digital download or to stream. iTunes: Spotify: The video was filmed, produced and edited by Stuart Edwards.

London-based singer-songwriter Rich Stephenson released Alibi, the second single from his new I AM RICH (blue) EP, at the end of last week. The new song combines earthy acoustics with pop hooks and is driven by sweeping violins and his signature bendy-legged, rhythmic strumming.

After a busy summer that saw typically frenetic & audience-charming performances at Glastonbury, Boardmasters, Humber Street Sesh and Beverley Folk Festivals, recent single Better Things To Do cemented Rich Stephenson into place as one of the best emerging UK singer-songwriters. 

Ralph is pleased and proud to be able to premiere GRIT the new single from Áine Duffy & The Hypnotyst The two combined forces last April, attempting to create a revolutionary new sound unheard of in the music industry. 

With GRIT Áine Duffy & The Hypnotyst flirts with dance, rock and funk to innovatively combine genres and moods, creating their own individual sound which is designed to get concert venues rocking and the dance floors moving.

No 7: COPE

Ralph's played London based punk quintet COPE on the Radio KC Indie Show previously and is now pleased to reveal their new single Seasons Ending, taken from their forthcoming debut EP. 

The name COPE has two meanings, first and foremost the obvious; how do you cope? The second stands for Challenge Oppression Pursue Equality, the title of the band’s debut EP, which is out now.

No 8: Artbreak

Artbreak write and record their music, create their videos and draw up their artwork from their South London base in Brixton.

All their music is available on Spotify and free to download on Soundcloud

The band, who don't believe in LPs or EPs, release a single every few weeks with five available so far and the latest being Polaroids In Paris.

No 9: Equinox


When William Blake penned his oft recited poem Jerusalem he could almost have unwittingly been setting the scene for the work of EquinoxThose ‘dark Satanic mills’ almost a metaphor for the depression that is prevalent within the poetry and the ‘mental fight’ that has become an almost daily battle.

No 10: Paradox 

Photo courtesy of Fonteyn Photography

Ralph's favourite video this week is Mr Bureaucracy by Irish band Paradox. They were heavily influenced by the Grunge Era of the 90's. The band shaped much of their music around many vocal harmonies layered on top of power chord riffs. 

After playing the local circuit, recording many demos and fine tuning their sound Paradox headed to the US and secured a record deal with an independent label based in LA

Fighting Caravans - Video Of The Week

Image may contain: 1 person, on stage, playing a musical instrument and concertRalph's favourite video this week is In Sicily by Fighting Caravans a 6-piece Alt Rock band from Leeds.

Likened to QOTSA, Fat White Family and Grinderman they've had a very successful 2016, including performances at several festivals including Reading & Leeds and Sound City in Liverpool. The single In Sicily is released by Fighting Caravans on Christmas Day.

You can order the 7" vinyl or download the mp3 here: 

In 2015, Fighting Caravans released their debut EP, Beasts Of England, alongside a UK & EU tour, earning strong local and international plaudits. In 2016 the success of singles Tyrannosaur and Blue Heart Motel, provided the opportunity for the band to complete their first ever UK & EU headline tours.

The band are currently recording their 2nd EP at The Nave, from which the first single will be released in January.

Daniel Clark - Lead Vocals
Riff James - Guitar
Cinnamon Lees - Bass
Ali Fletcher - Guitar
Dave ‘The Sesh’ Hogan - Drums
Danny Marlando - Keys