Saturday, 4 May 2013

Ralph's Chart - 4.5.13

OK bands you know the score.....

the more hits your blog gets by the fans, the higher you go.....

So tweet it, Facebook it.....

and generally expose yourself.....

Now Mr Snuggles and me have been sitting with our heads down counting the hits on each bands blog to see who's got which place.  

So here it is.....

The Top Ten Blogged Band Chart .....

No 1 ..... The Fireflys 

Ralph's search for North West bands continues and who better to look at next than Runcorn based The Fireflys.  The current line up is the result of a number of line-up changes, much soul searching and angst but the band have come through the stronger for it.  The current line up is founding member, guitar/vocalist Lee Wylding, Stephen Roberts on bass and Andrea Packer on drums.  They feel they've found the right mix to drive forward and build on the success of last years critically acclaimed 'Cathedral For Your Ashes' album

No 2..... Culann

Culann have made no secret of the fact that they want to make 2013 their year and they made a great start by winning the 'Best Rock/Alternative' category of The Scottish Alternative Music Award earlier this month.  Comprised of PJ Kelly - Vocals/Guitar, Sean Kelly - Drums/Vocals, Greg Irish- Guitar, Ross McCluskie- Keys and Calum Davis-Bass, Culann are making rousing folk/rock anthems (sometimes with a hint of prog rock like - 'Beat Your Chest') with almost alarming regularity.

No 3..... The 23's

Ralph's just had the heads up from his man in Scotland, Malcolm Parry about an up and coming young band from Edinburgh called The 23's.  Malcolm caught their recent gig at Edinburgh's Electric Circus supported by Lethalise and The Dons who Ralph blogged recently.  The 23's are Blair Ramsey - vocals, Scott McPherson - guitar, ben Clark - rhythm, guitar Keiran Smith - bass guitar and Michael Ferguson - drums. 

No 4..... Universal Thee

Edinburgh based five piece Universal Thee comprise of James Russell (guitar and vocals), the recently added (ex-Caravan Club) Lisa Russell (vocals) Robin Spivey (guitar) Sean M

No 5..... tohaveistohold

last year when Ralph joined The Online Festival one of the first tracks he came across was 'Pull Out The Lappy And Type It' by Chris Hallam AKA To Have Is To Hold and it's been a favourite tune ever since.  It was just a simple lyrical flow accompanied by a ukuelele, but so striking in it's simplicity and humour it stuck like glue.  At that time Chris was just starting out on his musical journey with a view to developing new material and producing an EP under the nom de plume To Have Is To Hold.  Well he's done just that and Ralph had a word with him about his new EP '#Acoustic Flows'.

No 6..... Last Minute Glory

With so many new bands trying to make a name for themselves in Edinburgh just now Last Minute Glory are sticking their heads above the rest with their debut EP 'Take Time'.  It's a light and airy Scots poptastic a la View, so to show they're ready to make a name for themselves they set up an EP launch party in Cabaret Voltaire

No 7..... Wullae Wright

Everybody likes to make a comparison about artistes and Ralph's old man is no exception. He heard Wullae Wright's 'Halo Effect' playing on my laptop and next thing he was wiping the dust of his collection of vinyl, dug out Led Zeppelin I and stuck it under my nose muttering....."Babe I'm Gonna Leave You".  Chance would be a fine thing some would say, however I had a listen and low and behold Wullae Wright is capturing the same raw intensity of vocals that an early Robert Plant did. 

No 8..... Jess Harwood

With a new EP out in May and some great gigs in the offing Jess Harwood is starting to make a real impact on the music scene.  Jess is a 20 year old singer-songwriter from Blackpool and has been writing and singing her own songs since her early teens.  She's a self taught 

No 9..... Richie Ashwin

RICHIE ASHWIN 1Richie Ashwin is an emerging South-East  recording artist and producer who’s currently building a name within the UK R&B scene.  He combines his natural audio skills with a keen visual eye that see's him shoot and direct his own music videos.

After some much needed self-reflection and artistic honing over the past year Richie Ashwin has returned to introduce to us his fresh, new musical identity.  

No 10..... Panda Su

Inline images 2After blogging Panda Su last year when she released the single 'The Alphabet Song' which was heard by worldwide cinema audiences as it's the background music to Jennifer Lawrence's first on screen kiss in the film 'House At The End Of The Street'.  So big news is today she's released a new single 'MAPS' and it's a bit of a tangent as she marries her sultry vocals with light, airy electronica to delight our ears. 

No comments:

Post a comment