Monday, 21 January 2013

The Online Festival

The third event in The Online Festival calendar is almost upon us and it's on their home turf, Grimsby in conjunction with Hourglass records and features an evening with local band Just Mammals who are headlining the night to promote the release of their first single 'Happy'.  Support on the night is Orphan Boy's Rob Cross doing an acoustic set, The Accord, Roxanne and Rick Emsley. 2 February at 19:00

Just Mammals are a four-piece band, local to the Grimsby and Cleethorpes area. Consisting of Luke Chester (guitar/vocals), Richard Smith (guitar/vocals), Harry Drakes (bass) and Troy Hutchinson (drums). Armed with an explosive mixture of upbeat melodic songs and a rough around the edges class, their fusion of ‘indie punk’ was fresh for the ears and eyes of Grimsby, a town always waiting for something to happen. They are influenced by The Libertines, The Cribs, Joy Division, The Clash, The Doors, The Smiths and their live shows are always lively to say the least. I caught them at the Dry Bar in Manchester where they performed a manic, entertaining and unforgettable set.

A real coup for the Online Festival is local boy Rob Cross of Manchester's Orphan Boy (who have just had a sell out gig at the Casablanca) performing an acoustic set. He's been with Orphan boy since 2005.  Many of their contemporaries have long since left the scene but Rob and the guys are made of sterner stuff and their stage shows are legend.

The Accord started out on early 2005 and, influenced by the likes of The Smiths, Stone Roses, Verve and The Jam they constantly strive to make interesting music.  They're a hard grafting band always writing new material and gigging.  The line-up includes singer, guitarist and primary songwriter Sam Simmons, guitarist Sam Carlton, bassist Rob Bywater and drummer Luke Whotton.

Another acoustic set on the night is Roxanne Mckerracher, a local girl who has an outstanding singing voice and they're really excited that she's agreed to perform on the night.  Roxanne has now departed from singing with a band in favour of performing with an acoustic guitarist which is better suited to her vocal style.

Rick Emsley is Grimsby through and through and is a upcoming singer songwriter.  He's constantly writing and recording tunes, getting signed and performing as many live shows as possible.  His videos on Youtube have attracted a lot of attention and his latest video for his song 'Tired of Pretending' featured fellow Grimsby lad and actor Tommy Turgoose

The evening is being held in conjunction with Hourglass Recordings who are a new independent record label that combines a love of music with a passion for quality.  They cover music of all genres including Indie, Folk, Blues and Rock. Pop and Electronic Dance.  Their aim is to help new and established bands, musicians and producers get their music released to a worldwide audience.

Hourglass Recordings mission is to discover, develop and ultimately market the amazing new talent that has joined their free music website  Talent that has the special unique qualities that today’s extremely demanding and challenging music market requires; real passion, energy, drive, a professional edge and above all, the ability to create great original music.

They aim to give artists a first step on the music ladder and offer them their help and support in releasing their music to a worldwide audience as well as helping them reach their full potential and building up the brand that they can be.
Their short term contracts are ideal for new bands, musicians or producers who are looking to sign to a label but are afraid to commit long term to somebody new for the first time. Offering single or E.P deals to artists to enable them the backing of a label but without the shackles of a lengthy contract.

They hope to become a stepping stone label for members and help them on their way to a successful career in the music industry and have recently released their first compilation album of Festival members music.  presents 

Indie-Vidual  Vol 1 

01 - Mama Roux - Fire 

02 - Alexander Vann - I will be the air 

03 - Lisa Redford - Reminders

04 - Orphan Boy - Letter for Annie *

05 - Velocets - Naked 

06 - The Vindickers - Buddy song 

07 - Transition,Baby! - Manners are wasted on you 

08 - Crystal Seagulls - Ups and downs 

09 - The Relics - Been down to the bottom 

10 - Sonnic Image - Sunday Sofa Sisters 

11 - The Revival - Katie 

12 - Stolen Haven - Decent Shoes 

13 - Tomlin Leckie - Earthwalker 

14 - We came from the sea - dog dog dog 

15 - Cherry Head Cherry Heart - The Illusionist 

* Orphan Boy appear courtesy of concrete recordings, song taken from the album Passion,Pain and Loyalty 

No comments:

Post a comment